FL > NYC Roadtrip, Part 2 – Charleston, SC!

1 Nov

After my fun night out at the Gainesville House of Beer with Janna & Amie… I woke up Saturday morning, did some laundry, said goodbye to Janna & my two little lovelies… and around 11am Jayd picked me up & we hit the road out of GNV and headed North!

We had decided that we should stop in Charleston, SC for lunch since neither of us had been there before. While Jayd was driving, I did a little browse of the internets &, taking into account her craving for BBQ, found us a charming little brewpub to visit!

Ok, “little” might not actually be accurate… the building that houses the Southend Brewery & Smokehouse is a BEAST! I have a serious soft spot for old, brick buildings – especially if they’ve been re-purposed – & this one was a doosey! Three floors, with the brewhouse right smack dab in the middle, surrounded by glass walls…

…and lots of windows! It was a really gorgeous space, and they had fun little nods to the brewing around the place, like these sacks of grains & malts!

Jayd & I made our way up to the third floor & snagged some seats at the bar… along with two available outlets to recharge our iPhones… phew! We ordered some food & decided to share a sampler of the house beers… always a good idea since driving was involved… safety first, kids! So… here are the beers!

LOVE ME TWO TIMES BLONDE: – really nice pilsner style – light & a little starchy

RIP TIDE RED: – a bit malty, but I don’t actually mind it for some reason.

WATCH IT GROW WHEAT: – not a lot of complexity, but somehow the aroma makes me thing of shampoo. Jayd said that it might be lemon/lemongrass… she might be right!

CASTLE PINCKNEY PALE ALE: – nice dry, hoppy IPA – not a lot of citrus notes, but very nice & very dry.

PICT’S STOUT: – this confused me a bit… it was very bitter, but I couldn’t tell if it was from chocolate… coffee… or neither? Wasn’t my favorite.

They were out of their seasonal, so they had a guest beer on tap – Stevens Point Nude Beach Wheat – omg, it smelled like olive juice, like a dirty martini. Now, I like a Dirty as much as the next gal, but I do NOT want my beer to smell like one… or taste like one! It didn’t taste like a Dirty, was just a bit sour at first and then just turned weird. I don’t know what on earth they were going for with this beer, but for me, it just failed miserably. After reading the description of the beer on the brewery’s website, I *really* have to hope that either the bartenders misinformed me about which guest beer was on tap… or that something had gone wrong with that particular batch of beer… or that a tap line was dirty… because NOTHING about the beer matches up at all with their description…

Point Nude Beach is the perfect summer pleasure.  Available only during the warm months of summer, this lively and unfiltered wheat ale is well balanced using “au naturel” raw and red wheat, then delicately finished with Yakima hops.  With a refreshing light flavor, Point Nude Beach is perfect while enjoying summer activities or just hanging out with friends.  Clothing optional.

In the end, it was a great little pit-stop lunch in Charleston, and a fun opportunity to visit a local brewpub! I have a few friends in Charleston—who used the same ‘music festival’ excuse for not being around to join us for lunch—and I definitely want to come back down & visit again sometime & have them show me around… ’cause I’m sure there’s more great beer to be had in Charleston!

So after our lovely little lunch & sampler, Jayd & I hit the road, cranked up the music… and made hay for Raleigh, NC!

~HH~

2 Responses to “FL > NYC Roadtrip, Part 2 – Charleston, SC!”

  1. citadelgrad January 24, 2012 at 4:28 PM #

    Crap, I could have warned you to steer clear of Southend. You were probably 5 minutes walk from a great beer store. If you ever get back to SC checkout Coast http://coastbrewing.com/ . They make some great aggressive IPAs.

    • thehopshoney January 24, 2012 at 4:33 PM #

      Good to know, Scott! We really didn’t plan ahead on that visit, just tried to piece it together on the fly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

