2011 NYC Beer Week – Kicking it off at Little Town

23 Sep

Friday, September 16th saw the start of New York Craft Beer Week 2011, so before a dinner with friends, I made a point to hit up a participating bar to have a pint! A few months ago I had received a TravelZoo e-mail about a craft beer bar food & drink offer for a new venue and, in addition to serving craft beer only from NY state breweries, their menu listed rosemary-truffle seasoned popcorn. O_O

Needless to say, I was dying to go there… but somehow just never made it. So when I had to find a bar to go to that was on the East side before dinner, this place popped into mind as the perfect spot! From start to finish, Little Town definitely didn’t disappoint!

First off, the decor is very warm and inviting, not fussy, but not divey… so a great place to grab a beer with friends. Also, when I walked in I was very pleasantly surprised to see a familiar face manning some of the tables—Stephanie, an acquaintance from my local, the Four Faced Liar! It was fairly slow when I got there which gave the two of us a nice chance to chat & catch up a bit!

I ended up staying really local to NY State, & tossed back a Sixpoint Sweet Action as well as a Sixpoint Bengali Tiger. Oh, and my friends Gary, Amanda & Katie joined me! 🙂 We had a lovely experience, enjoyed some DELISH “truffled Coach Farm goat cheese & artisanal honey spread over a crunch thin baguette,” & made promises to definitely come back another time!

Oh! And I picked up my NY Beer Week Passport! Man, has this thing grown over the past four years… this year’s edition has 175 pages of possibilities! The New York beer scene is definitely one to be reckoned with!

Here’s hoping you’re in the area & have been able to get out to some of the great events around the city this week! 🙂

~HH~

Leave a Reply

