Cali, In A Nutshell

29 Nov

Back in October, The Hops Honey went Coastal!

I headed out to Long Beach mid-October for the happy occasion of my dear friends Megan & Drew’s nuptials!  My fabulously talented friend Jayd was their photographer, and so we were able to make a fun ‘road trip’ out of the weekend.  In the next few posts about the trip, her amazing talent behind the lens will become apparent… and having her along to document some of my brewery tours just made me cranky that I can’t have her come along with me every time! 🙂

So, follow along for the next few posts to see how my 2nd ever trip to the West coast went… but, here first is Cali, in a nutshell!

What did I learn from this recent trip out to Cali?  I have A LOT to learn about beer still!  The weekend started off brilliantly with Green Flash ‘cause Grant was gracious enough to give me the step-by-step, blow-by-blow walk through about how beer is made.

Long-story, short?

It’s really effing complicated.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a scientifically-minded person (or a numbers person either for that matter!)… but I’m truly in awe of what a scientific process/undertaking this all is!  The fact that people sort of ‘fall into’ beer making is nothing short of amazing.  At best I could fall into a vat of beer! 🙂

I really feel like an imposter sometimes ’cause when I tell people I write a blog about beer, I think they assume or expect me to be some sort of an expert, and I’m sooooo not!  Part of the whole point of this blog is to document my beer education/exploration/journey.  I’ll admit to everyone that I don’t really know anything… and I’m ALWAYS open to suggestions & recommendations.

But, I think that the value in this is that, like with wine or ‘fine’ food, when you’re just starting to learn, it can be intimidating and if you encounter a haughty or snotty environment it can turn you off to it right away if you don’t feel comfortable asking about it… so if I can do the uncomfortable asking on “your” behalf, I’m happy to bridge that gap & help bring more novices like myself into “the fold”.

Meanwhile, to those of you who are even less familiar with beer than myself, it may seem like I know “a lot”… but trust me, it’s just because I belly up to the bar more often than you and ask the questions…

…what can I say, I’m a pushy, thirsty bitch! 😉

Up next… Green Flash Brewing Co!

~HH~

2 Responses to “Cali, In A Nutshell”

  1. Brad December 10, 2009 at 2:35 PM #

    Soo jealous! Hope it’s been great out there.

    Glad I ran into your blog btw, keep up the good work.

    • thehopshoney December 10, 2009 at 3:43 PM #

      Hey there – Cali WAS great… I’d never been, and then I went twice in one year… can’t wait to go back again… but now I’m home from vaca in NYC!

Leave a Reply

