A Triumphant Time

7 Nov

A short walk across the river from Lambertville brought Emily & I to New Hope, PA & Triumph brewery.  I decided to do a flight, & here’s what I got to try… follow along with the pictures… I started from the left 🙂

Kolsch – sadly, the only impression I took away from this beer was that it had a little bit of a starchy flavor to it.

Triumph 1

Rauch Bier – I thought that it smelled smoky and so I read the description (on the Beer Descriptions page, of course!) & had a feeling I might like it.  My reaction?  “OMG, it’s like drinking BACON!!!!!”  I officially am a huge fan of smoky and/or Rauch Biers.  I mean, wow, this was goooooood!!!

Triumph 2

One was swilled, and then there were 5...

Oktoberfest – Compared to some of the super delicious, uber-flavorful Oktoberfest beers that are out there, this seemed kind of middle-of-the-road to me.

Triumph 3

Two down, four to go...

Imperial Stout – Now, the darker family of beers were my least favorite before I started this whole journey, but I’m slowly but surely coming around!  I think that it definitely helps if the beer is on the smoky side, and this one definitely is… and so I liked it! 🙂

Triumph 4

Silly bartender took my empties away!

Ok, so I totally dropped the ball on this… there was one beer on the sampler that I didn’t write about!!! EEK!  Anyone want to take a guess as to what this mystery sample might be?!?!

Triumph 5

Almost done! (check out that empty stout glass!!!)

Raspberry Wheat – LADIES, are you paying attention?  If you say that you don’t like beer, this is the kind of beer you should be trying!  If it has fruit in the name, give it a try… what do you have to lose?  If you don’t like it, you have the pleasure of proving me wrong! 😉  This beer, honestly, tastes like Raspberry Cool-Aid!  It’s super light & refreshing and definitely very fruity… and it even has a pinkish hue to it!  See? (the pix above shows the pinkness much better!)

Triumph 6

The lone sample!

I have to also give mad props to the kitchen… Emily and I ordered some food to share, and we were totally knocked out by it – the BLT sandwich has to be one of the best I’ve ever had (second only to my friend Todd’s version, which will literally kick the ass of any other sammy you could put up against it!), and the calamari was perfectly done… and served with two different dippers… classic marinara, and then a creamy, garlicy sauce!  Here, let me make you skin green and your mouth water

Triumph Food

YUMMMMMM!!!!

We went home for a little R&R & freshening up & then headed back out for the evening and when we ended up back at Triumph later in the evening, it was a no brainer for me to order a full pour of the Rauch Bier.  It’s so nice to do the samples so you get to make an informed decision later on what you’ll have a full one of!

So concludes Nostalgia Tour ’09… and I can definitely say that it was a truly, triumphant time!

~HH~

4 Responses to “A Triumphant Time”

  1. Simply Beer November 18, 2009 at 7:44 PM #

    I haven’t been to the new hope Triumph in a while. Nice to see they are pushing a bit into Rauchbier. Love that style!

    If you get a chance, head over to princeton nj where the original Triumph brewery is. The Brew master over there, Tom Stevenson, makes some very good brews.

    • thehopshoney November 20, 2009 at 10:48 AM #

      Thanks for the recommendation on the Princeton location… I’ll have to train it out there one day soon!

  2. Helene December 14, 2009 at 1:18 PM #

    I love what you wrote about the Rauch Bier. I’m a vegetarian so don’t eat bacon and sometimes I really miss it. That’s when I go out and find a nice, smoky beer. It really is like drinking bacon (but without the guilt, for me)!

    • thehopshoney December 14, 2009 at 6:33 PM #

      Hi Helene – about the Rauch Bier, it’s funny ’cause a good friend of mine who has grown up keeping kosher is excited to try one with me soon so she can finally know what bacon tastes like! 🙂

      So good to know more women who are drinking beer, let alone taking the next step & writing about it! I’m planning to come down to Philly in the next month or so, so we’ll for sure have to grab a beer!

      Genevieve

Leave a Reply

